Board of Directors

Current Officers

President and Founder: Harlan D. Harris

Harlan2012_100x100Harlan has a PhD in Computer Science (Machine Learning) from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, with post-doctoral work in Cognitive Psychology. He currently is Director, Data Science at the Education Advisory Board, co-founded Data Community DC, and co-founded and co-organizes Data Science DC.


Secretary and Founder: Sean Moore Gonzalez

DSC00302 - Version 2_100x130Sean Gonzalez has worked primarily in the defense industry in machine learning and AI. Sean is currently a data scientist focusing on visualizing data for better communication and decisions, works in the defense industry, consults on data projects, is a co-founder of Data Community DC, and co-organizes Data Visualization DC.  


Treasurer and Founder: Tony Ojeda

Tony Ojeda_small_100x135Tony Ojeda is an accomplished data scientist and entrepreneur with expertise in business process optimization and over a decade of experience creating and implementing innovative data products and solutions. He has a Masters in Finance from Florida International University and an MBA with concentrations in Strategy and Entrepreneurship from DePaul University. He is the founder of District Data Labs, a co-founder of Data Community DC, and is actively involved in promoting data science education through both organizations.


Additional Board Members

Founder and Statistical Programming DC Representative: Marck Vaisman

MarckVaisman-headshot_100x150Marck Vaisman is a data scientist, consultant, entrepreneur, master munger and hacker. He is Sr. Data Scientist at DeepMile Networks and owner and Principal Data Scientist at DataXtract, LLC [2]. His professional experience spans the management consulting, telecommunications, Internet, and technology industries. He has an MBA from Vanderbilt University and a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Boston University. He is co-organizer of Data Science DC and R Users DC, and a contributing author to O’Reilly’s Bad Data Handbook.


Statistical Programming DC Representative: Abhijit Dasgupta

Abhijit Dasgupta is a data consultant working in the greater DC-Maryland-Virginia area, with several years experience in biomedical consulting, business analytics, bioinformatics, and bioengineering consulting. He has a PhD in Biostatistics from the University of Washington and over 40 collaborative peer-reviewed manuscripts, with strong interests in bridging the statistics/machine learning divide. He is always is on the lookout for interesting and challenging projects, and is an enthusiastic speaker and discussant on new and better ways to look at and analyze data. He is a member of Data Community DC and a founding member and co-organizer of Statistical Programming DC (formerly R Users DC).


Data Innovation DC Representative: Robert Vesco

robvescoRobert is currently a researcher, teacher and PhD candidate at the University of Maryland. He studies online startup communities and the media’s influence on entrepreneurship. In his prior life his worked for startups in both the food and animation industries. He helped startups understand their financial data better as well as connect that data with the rest of their systems. He’s a fan of automation and a hater of paper. He also worked with New Ventures helping social and environmental entrepreneurs from developing countries find access to financing and markets. When he’s not working, he’s biking, rock climbing, and trying to eat the best food he can get his hands on.


Founder and Data Innovation DC Program Representative: Sean Murphy

sean_small_100x125Sean is a Senior Scientist at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, an MBA from the University of Oxford, and a data consultant and advisor for several startups. He currently co-organizes the Data Innovation DC meetup and cofounded the Data Science MD meetup.


Data Science MD Program Representative: Jason Barbour

jason_barbourJason is a software engineer at Varen Technologies, focused on developing analytics for large data sets using tools such as Hadoop, Pig, and Accumulo. Previously, Jason worked as a network analyst for computer network operations. Jason holds a Master of Computer Science degree from UMBC where he concentrated on sensor network connectivity and security analysis.


Data Science MD Program Representative: Matt Motyka

Matt is a computer scientist who has spent the last 9 years as a consultant to the Department of Defense. He works for Six3 Systems developing software for traditional and big data platforms. Matt obtained his BS in Computer Science at the University of Maryland College Park and has an MS in Computer Science from Johns Hopkins University focusing on networking and telecommunications.


Data Science DC Program Representative: Ben Sweezy

ben_sweezy_100x120Ben works with the Federal Chief Information Officer at the White House Office of Management and Budget. He is excited to help energize the data science, analytics, and open data communities within and outside of the walls of the federal government. Send him any ideas for rethinking government data, accountability, transparency, management, or budgeting at @brsweezy.


Data Innovation DC Program Representative: Ben Bengfort

bbengfort_small_110x110Benjamin is a data scientist with a passion for massive machine learning involving gigantic natural language corpora, and has been leveraging that passion to develop a keen understanding of recommendation algorithms at Cobrain in Bethesda, MD where he serves as the Chief Data Scientist. With a professional background in military and intelligence, and an academic background in economics and computer science, he brings a unique set of skills and insights to his work. Ben believes that data is a currency that can pave the way to discovering insights and solve complex problems. He is also currently pursuing a PhD in Computer Science at University of Maryland College Park.


Data Wranglers DC Program Representative: Robert Dempsey

robert-dempsey-110sq Encountered challenges. Worked around. Moving forward.


Current Staff:

Communications Manager: Jacquelyn Bengfort


Former Board Members:

  • Valerie Coffman
  • John Dennison
  • Sara Zellner